Feb. 27, 2020

MOON TOWNSHIP — Rep. Valerie Gaydos (R-Allegheny) today announced the School Safety and Security Committee has awarded $356,450 in School Safety and Security Grants to school districts in the 44th Legislative District, including Avonworth, Moon Area, West Allegheny and Quaker Valley School Districts.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

“No family should have to fear for their child’s safety at school,” Gaydos said. “From the moment they step onto the school bus, it is our responsibility to protect them from harm. This funding represents an essential investment into the wellbeing and security of our children and will go a long way toward ensuring our schools are safe havens for learning.”

Those receiving grants locally are:

• Avonworth School District – $35,000.
• Moon Area School District – $45,000.
• West Allegheny School District – $40,000.
• Quaker Valley School District – $236,450.

The 44th Legislative District encompasses 14 municipalities including Aleppo Township, Bell Acres, Crescent Township, Edgeworth, Findlay Township, Glen Osborne, Glenfield, Haysville, Moon Township, North Fayette Township, Ohio Township, Sewickley, Sewickley Heights and Sewickley Hills.

Representative Valerie Gaydos
44th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Michael Plummer
RepGaydos.com / Facebook.com/RepGaydos